What’s All This, Then?

The purpose of this blog is threefold:

1. To keep family and friends updated on my progress as I rehabilitate my recently-surgered knee. Since I had ACL/PCL reconstructive surgery last week, I’ve been inundated with knee-related questions from said family and friends (“Can you walk yet?”, “Does it hurt?”, “Why does it look like the surgeon beat you with a car antenna?”, etc.) While I appreciate the concern, it does get tiresome answering the same questions over and over, so hopefully this blog will provide those concerned with some insight into my experience.

 

acl surgery bruise

No, i can't walk. Yes, it hurts. I don't know why it looks like that.

 

2. To give others an idea of what the rehabilitation process entails, other than sucking and/or blowing. I’ve asked a few people about what to expect while I’m going through physical therapy and trying to get back to my former self, and I seldom get an answer other than “PT sucks/blows and it hurts.” So hopefully this blog will serve as a reference for future knee surgery patients who want to know exactly what to expect when they begin rehab.

3. To give me something to do. The worst part about this experience so far is the soul-crushing boredom that comes in the weeks immediately following surgery. I’ve been cooped up in my little sister’s room with nothing but my laptop and a vaguely creepy John Lennon poster to keep me company.

 

John Lennon Poster

"Hello, I'm John Lennon. Mind if I watch you while you sleep?"

 

Basically, i need something to occupy my time. I’ve watched 4 seasons of King of the Hill and countless movies on Netflix in the past week. Some were pretty good (Being John Malkovich), and some were unbearable pieces of crap (The Matrix: Revolutions)

 

Matrix Revolutions

Pictured: an unbearable piece of crap

 

I’ve more or less reached the point where I can’t lay around and do nothing all day anymore. At first this sounded like a great idea, almost like a little vacation. But I’ve come to realize that it’s less like a vacation and more like a sadistic version of house arrest where you can’t walk and you have to poop with one leg locked straight out (a position that I do NOT recommend.)

More than anything else, this blog will provide me with something to do besides my new favorite hobby – beard growing. I don’t expect a whole lot of people to read this, so I’m mostly just going to write it for my own enjoyment and the hope that somebody will be able to learn something from it somewhere down the line.

About Andrew Sacks

I'm a 27-year-old former college baseball player, currently working as a strength and conditioning coach in Baltimore, MD.
This entry was posted in Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s All This, Then?

  1. Dylan says:

    Thanks for writing that, I’m just starting day two and the humor was just what I needed.

  2. JK says:

    I had knee surgery June 1st for benign (woohoo) tumors in my knee invading the synovial something or other. Lots of technical words but basically cysts all in my knee and wrapped in the PCL. I have been bored out of my mind! I have 3 young kids and sent them away and thought I recover at my moms for 2 weeks, well she doesn’t have DVR, pay per view, and only 30 channels on TV. I was going nuts! I’m back home now and it week 3 of physical therapy. After only 3 sessions I regained enough quad strength back to lift my leg on my own! I’ve got a long road and still can’t drive and I’m stul at home BUT when my husband is off of work he gets me out of the house and I finally have real cable again! I hope your recovery is going well.

  3. Dustin says:

    Thanks for this. I’m scheduled for PCL and MCL surgery September 25, 2012 and I’m nervous as all hell. I needed the humor; much appreciated.

  4. Melissa says:

    I just stumbled across this blog looking at misc acl stuff and I couldn’t stop laughing. I’m on week 2 after surgery and relate to so much on here. Such a great read and totally had me laughing which I haven’t done since my whole ordeal started. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

