The Motivational Value of Competition

Well, it’s been a little over a year since I had my two knee surgeries, and now that they’re completely healed, I’m going to attempt to squat 400 pounds, deadlift 500 pounds, and have a 33 inch vertical jump by Christmas. Well, kind of. Really, I just need to get closer to those numbers than my friend Dan Blewett.

Loser

God I hope this picture shows up when people do a Google image search for DAN BLEWETT

The story is, Dan recently challenged me to a contest to see who could reach those ambitious numbers first. However, we agreed that we didn’t want to hurt ourselves trying to reach those goals by Christmas, so we’re just making it a straight up, mano a mano competition in the vertical jump and broad jump.

It’s going to be me and my two zombie knees versus him and his factory installed knees. I have historically been able to outjump Dan without a problem, but I haven’t really been the same since my surgeries. This is in part due to the fact that I no longer have any reason to train as hard as I was before, since I’m no longer playing college baseball. Now, however, I am motivated by my spirit of competition to destroy my friend and then rub his face in it. I have the utmost confidence that I can not only return to my former leaping ability, but surpass it. You can follow the competition on Dan’s website at www.danblewett.com, starting with this post by me

This should be a thrilling competition filled with trash talk and insults. May the better man (me) win. I’ll also post updates on my site with wittier writing than you’ll find on Dan’s trash heap of a website.

Easy...

This is gonna be a cakewalk

About Andrew Sacks

I'm a 27-year-old former college baseball player, currently working as a strength and conditioning coach in Baltimore, MD.
This entry was posted in Me, Physical therapy, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Motivational Value of Competition

  1. Just take extra careful on what you are planning to do.

Leave a Reply

