Percocet Makes My Brain Work Not Goodly

Anybody who’s had ACL surgery and isn’t an idiot will tell you that the worst part about recovery is the first week, a fact that I learned roughly 3 months ago while I was recovering from my first knee surgery. For one thing, your recently-surgered leg is placed in a stabilizer brace that is locked at full extension, rendering you incapable of performing even the slightest of tasks without some level of discomfort. Even the most basic activities of daily living like putting on socks now require great cunning, agility, and perseverance. I’m sure it would help if I had any kind of hamstring flexibility whatsoever, but I obviously don’t, so I’m going to just throw in the towel and wear flip flops until I’m rid of this brace.

Fine, socks. Be like that. I don't need you anyway.

Actually, this first week hasn’t been too bad so far. At least, not compared to my last surgery. Last time, I was completely useless for a full three days after surgery. I didn’t do a goddamn thing except scarf down pain pills and drag myself to the bathroom in between naps on the recliner. I’m not 100% sure why, but this time around is completely different. For one thing, I can get around without crutches. I started walking the second I got home from the surgery center, in fact. Even going up and down the steps is a piece of cake. I did almost trip and fall in a parking lot yesterday, but that was just because I was all loopy on Percocet at the time.

,

Apparently I was kind of acting like this kid

The one thing that’s worse about recovery this time around is that I keep forgetting that I can’t drive anywhere. Last time, I was too out of it to even think about doing anything that required leaving the house. This time, though, I’m ready to get up and start living my life again. However, this is difficult to do when you can’t drive. There have been several times where I’ve been laying in bed, thought of something to do, gotten up, fully intending to go do the thing I was thinking of, then realized that I can’t drive myself to do it before laying back down again feeling like a complete idiot. I guess the combination of Percocet and being tired is making my brane not werk goodly. Some of the things I’ve planned to do today in my delusional fantasy world are: go to Sonic, go to Burger King, go to the gym, and my personal favorite: go to the batting cages. That’s right, at one point today I legitimately thought for a few seconds that I should grab my bat, hop in the car, drive to the cages, and take some hacks. Then I came to my senses and realized that was absolutely not going to happen. I actually came up with the batting cage idea just as I was waking up from a nap, so I guess that’s kind of excusable, since nobody’s really on top of things right after they’ve woken up. But still, you’d think I would have a little more self-awareness than that.

All in all, this first week has been pretty tolerable so far. As long as I can find things to do to curb my boredom, I should be OK until I go to see the doctor for my one week followup on Tuesday, when hopefully he will tell me I can lose the brace.

I also want to see what this bruised-up bastard looks like underneath those bandages

About Andrew Sacks

I'm a 27-year-old former college baseball player, currently working as a strength and conditioning coach in Baltimore, MD.
This entry was posted in Knee injury, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Percocet Makes My Brain Work Not Goodly

  1. Mandi says:

    Your blog is so awesome! I tore my ACL/PCL and LCL about a month ago and am almost 3 weeks post surgery. It’s been a rough recovery, but your blog has helped me laugh through it so much! And it’s also relieving to know that someone went through the same type of thing and was able to live to tell the tale. You’re such a good writer!

  2. Douglas says:

    I have surgery this Tuesday, 7/17/12. I have to have my 1st surgery for MCL/PCL then a follow up in 3-4 months on the ACL. I’m devastated. This is my worst nightmare come true as I play soccer, am a kickboxing instructor, and kickboxing national champion. I am very tough physically and mentally, but I feel like w/ a joint, well, it’s a joint. I also just am concerned with the whole recovery…I don’t like that I have to recover just to have a 2nd surgery, and then recover again. I apprecaite your blog and if you have any helpful hints pre-surgery, I would greatly appreciate it.

    D

    • Andrew Sacks says:

      Doing the whole 2 surgeries thing is a little frustrating. I had to get my left ACL repaired 3 months after getting the right one done, and it’s definitely a pain in the ass having to start from square one again. But the second surgery was way easier for me to recover from, for whatever reason. The tough thing is to make sure you don’t rush ahead in your rehab schedule since you’ve been through it already and want to get back to normal as quickly as possible. Just take your time and don’t try to make it happen too quickly. You have a much better chance of coming back at full strength if you are diligent with your rehab and don’t suffer any setbacks.

Leave a Reply

